Michael Merritt

Freelance French Translator & German Translator

1195
Location:Sheffield, Sheffield, United Kingdom
Profile:https://www.freelanced.com/michaelmerritt
0
Kudos
3.5
2 Skills
Ask
Rate/Hr
Michael Merritt
1st February 1970

Personal Statement

I am professional and organised, giving an excellent impression of myself and my employers. I am used to working in a service environment, being customer focused and communicating with colleagues, clients and customers. I am enthusiastic and motivated to provide an excellent service to the best of my ability. I have a wealth of experience to bring, am confident and used to working as a team or individually.

Qualifications

Certificate in French 2010
BA (Hons) Modern Foreign Languages – currently studying (Open University)
A Levels; French, German, General Studies (1988)
O Levels; French, German, Spanish, English, Maths, Chemistry (1986)
TEFL England Certificate

Skills

Analytical and methodical.
Organised and able to prioritise.
Reasoned decision making.
Motivated and enthusiastic.
Professional and quality assured.
Customer focused.
Colleague aware and diversity conscious.
Languages – French (Advanced), German (Advanced), Spanish (Basic)
Approved Driving Instructor (2006)

Work Experience

Translator (Freelance) November 2006 – present.
Various translation projects, French and German.
Legal, articles, manuals, instructions, blogs, essays.

English Foreign Language Teacher November 2010– present (Freelance)
Teaching English to foreign students, including planning the lessons, being able to organise and manage a classroom on a daily basis, on-line teaching, use of IT, working with other colleagues and being flexible as to working hours.

Police Officer September 1990 – November 2006
General Police duties, from foot and mobile patrols, to working in Retail Crime, Autocrime, Criminal Investigation, Control Room and Community policing. This was a highly stressful role, often involving confrontations and working very unsociable hours. I had to be well organised, display common sense and a professional attitude at all times, develop good decision making, be an excellent oral and written communicator and be able to work with a wide range of colleagues. I left the profession to begin my own business as a Driving Instructor.

Interests

Sports such as squash, badminton, football, swimming, gym and running – I have completed four half-marathons. I enjoy travel and lived in New Zealand for nine months (1999-2000) and in Greece (1995) for three. I like to experience new cultures and their history and adapt very quickly to new surroundings. Other interests include studying languages, walking, current affairs, world cinema and music and reading biographies. I am married, have two children and enjoy spending time as a family.

References

These are available on request.